Serving those who Serve

Serving those who Serve

1 John 4:8-11 “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love; not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.”
As I lay beneath my mosquito net I listen to the multitude of rabid dogs barking combined with monkeys, guards talking outside the front door, but soon the early morning will come with the sounds of crisp grass being cut by hand. For many reading this these sounds and words may not seem familiar, but they are slowly becoming my norm. Two weeks ago I entered into this adventure with two dear friends of mine, Jaime and Yvonne. The purpose in our trip which took us many miles from our home in California was to serve the Collie family, here in Uganda. To be honest, serving those already serving was not on my radar, but I was excited for the opportunity to provide refreshment to a family who had sacrificed so much. As the three of us entered into the Collie’s life here in Uganda, we soon realized how draining their day to day life is. With 4 children, and many Ugandan workers, the constant questions, guidance, disciplinary actions, and love poured out is a 24/7 job. Quietness and normalcy are far from the Collie’s home, but they somehow manage to love well those they come in contact with. It has been so evident in my short time here in Uganda, thus far, that support and encouragement to one another is so vital. So my challenge to those reading this is to open your eyes to those who are serving. Seek out ways to love others well. You will be amazed at how much an encouraging note, a written prayer, a thoughtful gift, or simply a big hug will mean to someone. These actions are ways to love others. For love is more than merely a word, but an ACTION. These are not expensive or complex ideas, but they take sacrifice to look beyond one’s self and put others before them.
To all those who have poured out so much love and support to me on my journey to Uganda, THANK YOU for serving me so sacrificially! Each of you has helped give me the strength to be so many miles from what is known and walk with faith into the unknown. The support and encouragement I have and continue to receive sustains me in the draining days. Completely overwhelmed by the love Christ has shown me through each of you <3

